Explorer

Instagram Users To Now Be Able To Prioritise Their Close Friends & Mute Rest Of The Community

Once you activate this feature, only people in your Close Friends list list will be able to see and comment on your posts, send you DMs, reply to your stories, tag you and mention you in their stories

In an effort to enhance user control and foster more meaningful interactions, Instagram is introducing a new feature that enables users to restrict interactions to their "Close Friends" list. This optional feature serves as a virtual velvet rope, effectively filtering out the noise from followers who are not part of your inner circle.

Once you activate this new feature, only people who are in your Close Friends list will be able to:

  • See and comment on your posts.
  • Send you direct messages (DMs).
  • Reply to your stories.
  • Tag you in posts and comments.
  • Mention you in their stories.

While other followers can still engage with your content, their comments, messages, and tags will be hidden from both you and the broader Instagram community.

Although this feature is designed with younger users in mind, it provides a valuable tool for anyone looking to curate their online experience and prioritise interactions with their closest contacts.

ALSO READ | 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup: Google Brings Attention To The Tournament With A Sporty Doodle

What Other Control Features Will Be In Your Hands?

The platform is also rolling out a suite of detailed control options, including:

  • Interaction Time Limits: Users can set a specific timeframe for limiting interactions, after which the feature will automatically turn off, prompting them to either extend or disable it.
  • Selective Limiting: Users have the option to establish a particular duration for restricting interactions. Once this timeframe ends, the feature will deactivate automatically, prompting users to either extend or disable it.
  • Restricted Accounts: Instagram now provides more subtle methods to control interactions with certain accounts without completely blocking them. Restricted accounts won't be notified when you're online, their messages will be sorted into a separate request folder, and any new comments they make on your posts will only be visible to you and them.

Top Headlines

AI, Automation Reshape India’s Telecom Jobs As 5G Hiring Boom Slows
AI, Automation Reshape India’s Telecom Jobs As 5G Hiring Boom Slows
Have 1,000 YouTube Subscribers? Here’s How You Can Earn From Ads In 2027
Have 1,000 YouTube Subscribers? Here’s How You Can Earn From Ads In 2027
FAU-G Domination Season 4 Is Here: New Nishta Character, 4v4 Mode, RC Bomb Debut
FAU-G Domination Season 4 Is Here: New Nishta Character, 4v4 Mode, RC Bomb Debut
Redmi Note 17 Review: This Phone Really Doesn't Want To Die
Redmi Note 17 Review: This Phone Really Doesn't Want To Die

Videos

Political flash: Amit Shah targets Congress over Vande Mataram controversy in Rajasthan
BREAKING NEWS: Delhi Kalyanpuri Murder Shocks Area as Sanitation Worker Dies in Knife Attack
UP 2027 Election: Gen Z Takes Centre Stage as Yogi, Akhilesh Step Up Youth Outreach
BREAKING NEWS: Varanasi Airport Firing Leaves Two Security Staff Injured
Farmers' March Update: Khanouri Border Sealed as Haryana Police Deploy Five-Layer Barricading

Photo Gallery

25°C
New Delhi
Rain: 100mm
Humidity: 97%
Wind: WNW 47km/h
See Today's Weather
powered by
Accu Weather
Embed widget